Book Reviews for The Blue Unicorn's Journey To Osm

Book Reviews for The Blue Unicorn's Journey To Osm


books are love rated it really liked it 

This is precious. It has a lesson as well. We learn that being different isn’t bad and can lead to wonderful things. It shows how unique and special you are.

Blue is born different from the other unicorn’s. He was supposed to be the one to save them but everyone feels disappointed because they don’t see how. He has no metal horn which is where their magic is. So Blue feels alone. Accept for his friend Ghel, the one he loves. He hides from groups and learns from Gaiso how to fight and becomes stronger. He feels he has something to prove.

Suddenly the danger is closer and his family is in danger. Blue must go out on a journey filled with danger and his friends Gaiso and Girasol are by his side the whole way. It is a magically written journey that has you smile and love the imagination of Sybrina.

Each unicorn is unique and wonderful. Each one plays a role in Blue becoming who he is and learning something. When the journey is done and Blue is transformed you learn so much and had a fun time as well.

The book is imaginative and lovely. So adorable and creative. Your attention never sways and all ages will love the story of blue and how he helps his fellow unicorns get to safety and find their home and family amongst themselves and loved ones long lost to them. Such a fun imaginative story to the end that is filled with adventure, whimsy, magic and intrigue.





The Blue Unicorn's Journey to Osm is a wonderful read. It has a layout and feel of a classic fairytale. The Illustrations are vivid and bright. I'd love to get the coloring book some day.
This is a story about a young unicorn named Blue who before birth was supposedly the Metal Horned unicorns savior. Everyone is disappointed when Blue is born as a plain unicorn without a metal horn or magic.
Blue feels set apart from the others and keeps to himself mostly aside from his best friend Ghel.
One day he is told that he will reach his destiny in the Muzika Woods. So he sets out by himself and along the way he picks up some companions.
I won't go into more detail because you should read the book for yourself. This book is for all ages, young and old alike.


By Nicole L on September 18, 2017

I am a huge fan of unicorns and was super exited when I found this book! "The Blue Unicorn's Journey to Osm Illustrated Book" is true gem. "The Blue Unicorn's Journey to Osm Illustrated Book" is a beautifully illustrated fantasy novel that pulls the reader directly into an incredible fantasy world that you don't want to leave.
The illustrations done by Dasguptarts perfectly match the story and help set the atmosphere. The love the beautiful color map provided that clearly identifies locations such as, Egada Home of the Cussers, Muzika Woods, and the Rainbow Colored Bands of Weita.
Author Sybrina Durant takes us on an adventure, following Blue, the unicorn who was was supposed to be the savior of his fellow unicorns. He was born without magic or the metal horns attributed to his tribe of unicorns. Fast forward twenty years and the adventure truly begins.
"The Blue Unicorn's Journey to Osm Illustrated Book' is such an imaginative, creative tale. I truly enjoyed reading it. I hope Sybrina Durant will publish future books similar to this. "The Blue Unicorn's Journey to Osm Illustrated Book" is easy to read and a true joy. I would recommend this book to those who enjoy young adult fantasy books. "The Blue Unicorn's Journey to Osm Illustrated Book" is quick, fun read for all.


By Jennifer Radmall on September 4, 2017

In the Tribe of Metal Horned Unicorns there is a prophecy that tells of a unicorn who will save them from the evil sorceress Magh who uses their horns and hooves for spells, but when he is finally born the Blue Unicorn has no metal in his horn. Without a metal horn the Blue Unicorn has no magic, but he still must find a way to save his people or they will all be doomed.

Along the his way on the perilous journey he has the help of many friends, like Gaiso the Stag and Girasol the Firebird. With the help of both forest friends and magical friends alike, Blue Unicorn must battle his way through the magical land of MarBryn to get his tribe back to Unimaise or face extinction.

The cover art caught my eye as soon as I saw it and I was delighted to find that the same vibrant and detailed illustrations are found throughout the entire book. A map in the beginning of the book make it easy for readers to follow both the Blue Unicorn's journey and the separate trek of his Tribe as they make their way to Muzika Woods. Each section has a small black and white illustration and is only two pages of text, making it easy to pick up and put down. Following each section is a full-color 2 page spread version of the black and white picture on the text page. The formatting in the e-book great, but is best enjoyed on a color tablet or computer screen to get the full color illustrations.

Seeing each of the unicorns special abilities corresponding to each unicorns unique metal horn is creative. Although Blue is without magic, he certainly isn't helpless and his ability to stay positive throughout the book definitely helps him on the way. The writing style is appropriate for the age category. The story moves at a steady pace and kept me hooked from beginning to end. Readers should be warned of the inclusion of death near that end, which may be too dark for younger readers.

This coming-of-age story is sure to delight fantasy and unicorn enthusiasts.



By James Westcott on August 6, 2017

Blue's journey of destiny was such a fun read. Each paged just added more and more layers of colorful lore that built up an intresting magical world that was just as vibrant as the characters inhabiting it. This was an enjoyable adventure with amazing illustrations. For people who love pure fantasy or adults who want a nostalgic read, for this story will feel like the time you read NeverEnding story as a kid. 

By Eric on August 4, 2017

I love it! the illustrations are very pretty and it's an easy nighttime story for my kids.



By  Elf2060 on July 23, 2017

“The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to Osm” written by Sybrina Durant and illustrated by Dasguptarts is a lovely children’s story that blends fantasy and a bit of science fiction in a sweet tale. The gentle reminders of the importance of acceptance and maintaining a sense of self worth are artfully woven into this fun adventure tale. The brightly colored illustrations underscore the fantastical creatures that populate the tale while elements of science are slipped in through descriptions of the types of metal horns utilized by various unicorns and fun words such as didgeridoo are woven into the story. The story can be read on multiple levels, from very simple for a young child to an older individual who can appreciate the nuances and inside jokes such as where the ice cubes originate. Those who enjoy the story should make sure to pay attention to the author’s notes at the end which detail accessory items including a coloring book as well as provide an illustration of a unicorn’s parts and a fun activity.




By WingedCourage on July 10, 2017

The Blue Unicorn's Journey To Osm by Sybrina Durant is a children's fantasy book about a group of unicorns written in third-person. It is perfect for children who enjoy fantasy stories (and especially unicorns). The book is aimed at younger children and filled with beautiful illustrations. A great book to read with a child.


By Elizabeth Tipping on April 8, 2017

This is an action-packed adventure pitting the unicorn tribe against the evil sorcerer, Magh. The tribe’s legacy says that a blue unicorn will save the tribe, but the tribe’s hopes are crushed when the unicorn is born without any magic. Blue must grow up to face his legacy and face the evil Magh so that he can save his tribe.

This is not what I would consider a “chapter book,” so I was thrown off by the title. It is definitely more appropriate for upper middle grade than an emerging reader (the typical “chapter book” reader). It is too long to be a chapter book (42 chapters). Plus, there is violence and death in the book. The evil sorcerer kills unicorns so that he can cut off their horns and hooves for their magic. An epic battle scene near the end is pretty graphic as well.

The illustrations are beautiful. I’m sure I will go back and just look at the pictures again – there is much to discover in them.


 

By Marla on March 20, 2017

This book is an epic fantasy written for anyone with a sense of adventure. Imagination is the fuel that feeds the brain to a fantastic wonderland.
Leona Rice


Blue Unicorn – PTI





By JDTop Contributor: Poetry Books on September 21, 2017

I'm not generally one for unicorns, but this book was written in an inviting way and made wonderful use of fantasy. I would recommend this book for young readers interested in exploring strange new worlds. This book would definitely be welcome on my classroom shelf - a nicely written text.



By Mimi Jazman on September 1, 2017

The Blue Unicorns Journey to Osm by Sybrina Durant is a fantasy story intended for reader age 12 to 18. The story revolves around a blue unicorn that is destined to save his tribe but he himself has neither metal horn nor magic. The story is mostly about his journey fulfilling his prophecy, saving his tribe from Magh.

The story moves forward very quickly and I like that, the author obviously doesnt waste any time in getting to the point and for Blue to start his journey. The fantasy world that the author created is believable and I like that the author describes MarBryn very thoroughly. The illustration in the book also helps the reader to imagine how the scene portrays and most of the illustrations actually shows what is going to happen in the chapter which I really like. It is kind of a teaser and you cant stop reading once you see the illustrations of the next chapter because you will be wondering what it means.

At some point, the book gets too cramped with too many characters but once you get the hang of it, the characters involvement flows much better.

I would say that this book is very good for the young teenagers as it has a lot of good moral values in it. On the other hand, the book itself is just simply amazing with the fascinating storyline and quick-witted characters.




This whimsical story is fun and entertaining, and not just for the little ones. I read it over several days with my nine year olds, reading a few chapters each evening, and we were all captivated by Blue and his adventures. Not only is the story entertaining but we learn some valuable lessons along the way. The gorgeous illustrations are eye-catching and add that extra element to this tale.


By dragonet711 on August 20, 2017

This book transcends age groups, a book with deeper meanings and themes like struggling with grief and learning to believe in yourself but utilizing a vocabulary and syntax more accessible to younger readers. It’s about magic and unicorns with a splash of science fiction, a genre-bending combination of fantasy and science fiction similar to The Dragonriders of Pern by Anne McCaffrey, but intended for a younger audience.

Overall, I found Blue’s journey to save his tribe and meet his destiny very compelling and the worlds of MarBryn and Unimaise immersive. The gorgeous watercolor illustrations add an engaging visual element to the story and aid the simple writing style in pulling the reader along at a quick pace. The visual introduction to the Metal Horn unicorn tribe, the unicorn diagram, the map, and the pronunciation guide after the story are also very helpful.

I love that this book is available in coloring-book format. While it is intended for an audience of 12-18 years old, the coloring element could entice and calm a reader of any age. Even if we won’t admit it, we all love to color still!

I admit that, for a good portion of the book, I thought that the writing style indicated a younger audience, perhaps the younger end of the Middle Grade age group. Still, the twists and action unveiled as the story progresses showed me why the book is recommended for the 12-18 age bracket. I think that even older readers (I’m in my 20s) will be so enthralled by this story and its worlds that they won’t be able to put the book down until they’re finished. It’s a great book for anyone, from a twelve-year-old to a ninety-year-old, to take a break from the stress and enter a world in which anything is possible, even conquering evil, so long as you believe in yourself and your loved ones.

I noticed a few proofreading errors here and there, including missing words and misplaced quotation marks. The errors aren’t noticeable for many pages but, as the story progressed, I saw more and more of them. I must warn that I am a perfectionist with a Bachelor’s in English, so I may just be hyper-aware of the situation. Overall, the errors didn’t detract from my enjoyment of the book.

I would recommend The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to Osm to any lover of fantasy, especially those who love unicorns and a relaxing—but stimulating—read. Should Durant choose to pursue MarBryn and/or Unimaise further, she definitely has a reader in me.




Having an interest both in fanciful creatures having adventures and the search for better lives, I thought this book called to me. It is written on a middle grade level, with some words needing a bit more work to figure out, mainly the very creative names given to the characters. The author does a wonderful job of world building.
It is a story of good vs evil, about how circumstances can change the direction of our lives.
Not everything is as it seems and many things take their own time to show their true colors.
It is a story about ethics and loyalty, about facing fears and making tough choices.
Unlike a famous reindeer with a different sort of nose than his herd, Blue's tribe accepts his difference and includes him. Blue, however, chooses to make his difference hold him back, limit his inclusion. In other ways, he is more open to friendships among people not of his breed than are the other unicorns. The story is very good but this book has messages on additional levels.
I recommend it to readers of fantasy fiction and those who appreciate deeper meaning in the stories they read.


By laurathomas61 on August 8, 2017

Having such a love for the wonder of unicorns it was an easy choice to read this book. Magical unicorns with metal horns. All shapes and sizes. And one unicorn, Blue, who has no magic, but is supposed to be the savior for the tribe. Sounds like a grand adventure to me.

And it was. Filled with lots of beautiful illustrations portraying many of the fantastical beings that roam these lands, it kept me enthralled. However, it had some dark moments that caught me by surprise. Going in thinking this was for younger readers, some scenes of death and danger now have me thinking this would better fit older teens and young adults.

This well written fantasy has plenty of intriguing characters and plenty of action, with some doses of peril that will keep you reading and crossing your fingers for a happy ending. I sure enjoyed it and would love to read more about Blue, his friends, and this magical world.





By Sherry Fundin on August 7, 2017

There’s no place like home…OSM means awesome.

He is supposed to be their savior. But how can that be possible? He has no magic.

He feels an outsider, he just doesn’t fit in. Does anyone feel a touch of Rudolph in this?

The fun, colorful, imaginative illustrations are wonderful, filled with fantastical creatures, both good and bad.

Each creature is unique, individual, just like in real life.

Is there such a thing as a fish unicorn? If so, imagine the possibilities.

Set your imagination free.

The Blue Unicorn…reads like old time fairy tales…where life and death choices are made…And …maybe, you will learn why you never see a unicorn.

This magical fantasy filled with fun and humor, sadness and happiness, and lessons learned. We are not alone.



By Elf2060 on August 3, 2017

“The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to Osm” written by Sybrina Durant and illustrated by Dasguptarts is a lovely children’s story that blends fantasy and a bit of science fiction in a sweet tale. The gentle reminders of the importance of acceptance and maintaining a sense of self worth are artfully woven into this fun adventure tale. The brightly colored illustrations underscore the fantastical creatures that populate the tale while elements of science are slipped in through descriptions of the types of metal horns utilized by various unicorns and fun words such as didgeridoo are woven into the story. The story can be read on multiple levels, from very simple for a young child to an older individual who can appreciate the nuances and inside jokes such as where the ice cubes originate. Those who enjoy the story should make sure to pay attention to the author’s notes at the end which detail accessory items including a coloring book as well as provide an illustration of a unicorn’s parts and a fun activity.



By Caitlyn Huehn on July 31, 2017

I was hooked immediately with this book, I even began to read it aloud to my family. It’s totally different from anything I’ve ever read before and I loved it! The added pictures helped to enhance my reading experience, as well as, keep my younger children entertained.

I loved the ideas that are taught in this book and I love the way the unicorn’s have human traits. They have fitness rooms, hair salons, and can even be allergic to things, but it all adds to the magical factor in the story.

Blue’s journey was interesting to read and made me realize there is so much about this book that I absolutely loved. I can’t wait to read it a second time! It was “scrumdiddlyumptious”!




By sagesurge on July 26, 2017

This book is aimed at younger readers and has many underlying life lessons in its story. It follows a unicorn named Blue, who is the prophesized savior to save the tribe of MarBryn from the evil sorcerer Magh.

Though the writing is easy to follow and as I read the story I could imagine myself reading it out loud to a child.

There are parallels to real life in the story and the book will likely teach young readers the value in believing in themselves despite the pressure that is put on their shoulders. The illustrations are well put together and will help young readers visualize the story. I do wish that some of them appeared larger on the screen in a higher resolution, but they served their purpose regardless.

Not everyone appreciates how complicated it can be to write a children’s book. You have to use language that easily flows, while also being conscious of word choices that will help build upon a child’s vocabulary. It takes real talent, and I believe that the author has paid close attention to the writing of this book as well as the visuals.





By Ann on July 25, 2017

Unicorns!

What an amazing read! “The Blue Unicorn” was colorful, adventurous, riveting and just plain amazing. I love love love the illustrations. I mean, a picture book for adults! It’s refreshing, engaging.

Durant’s writing is beyond imaginative, enrapturing and inspiring. I would pay hard cash to spend five minutes in her head. The characters are thoroughly fleshed out, the pacing is without flaws, and the action scenes are precise and well-written.

Also, be prepared for violence and death. This is not about unicorns farting skittles or drawing rainbow hearts. The situations are real, the peril, the losses, the journey…

If you are looking for a refreshing, unique read with lots of action, feels, and a real plot, then grab this one! You won’t regret it.


Blue Unicorn – Black and White



By LitPick Student Book Reviews on December 17, 2017

Blue is not an ordinary metal-horned unicorn. In fact, Blue is too ordinary to be a metal-horned unicorn. His horn is not even metal. Metal-horned unicorns have magic, charm, and beauty. Blue has none of those attributes. Blue, however, is more important than he realizes.

At Blue’s birth, an oracle predicted greatness. The whole clan was disappointed when they saw Blue, an ordinary unicorn with no powers. After his mother’s death, Blue became cut off from much of the clan, except from his mate, Ghel.

Still, Blue feels that there is something out there bigger than him and his clan that he is a part of. As the evil wizard, Magh, the man who killed Blue’s mother, attempts to slaughter all of the unicorns, Blue must set off on an epic quest to save his mate, clan, and his own life by finding someone he doesn’t know to help him find his true home, somewhere he’s never been. To do this, Blue must discover what lies beneath the seemingly monotonous life he has led for the past decade and find the truth. He must find what is buried deep inside his heart: his true destiny.

Opinion:
Reading The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to Osm was like reading a science fiction, fantasy, and romance novel all at the same time. For one, Blue and the rest of the unicorns are trying to return to their home planet by finding a spaceship and a unicorn to pilot it. This is very much a fantasy book, too. Because the main characters are unicorns, there’s magic everywhere, and there are other mythical animals that are only in dreams.

In this book, unicorns also have mates, like Blue and Ghel. These mates play very important roles in the story, and this book shows that true love saves lives. This is one of the strangest books I have read, but I didn’t dislike it at all. In fact, I enjoyed reading about the strange characters, such as the sassy, stylish unicorn, about the NUMEN spirit and how the unicorns must work together to return home.

There were parts in the book where the author glossed over details so quickly that I missed parts and didn’t understand what was happening for a time, but eventually, I figured it out and went back to enjoying this light, carefree book.

This is a very good read for someone who just wants to sit back and enjoy a fun story.

Reviewed by a LitPick student book reviewer Age 13

By Jill Bemis on August 13, 2017

The only hope for the metal unicorn disappears when the foals meant to be their rescuer; a blue unicorn is born with a plain blue hide horn. An evil sorcerer is determined to gain control over the unicorn tribes and take their power for themselves. This is a tale of one unicorn that faces odds and some discrimination to fulfill his destiny. An unexpected twist at the end holds another surprise. There are herd crests and unicorn anatomy illustrations provided. About half of the pages are illustrations suitable for coloring.

Goodreads Giveaway randomly chose me to receive this book. Although encouraged, I was under no obligation to write a review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.


Blue Unicorn – Hard Back

By Gail Lynch on June 17, 2018

I am not sure why this book is being advertised as a young adult book, because I think my upper elementary students will love it. 2 pages of story and 2 full pages of illustration that goes with that chapter. Many fantasy beings are in the story but unicorns are a big favorite of children. The story teaches lessons about family and loyalty, good over evil, etc. The illustrations are vibrant and you can barely wait to finish reading the 2 pages so you can see the next picture.


By C. Deranek on March 19, 2018

The Blue Unicorn's Journey to Osm is a very digestible read, quick and easy for a low middle grade reader. Blue, our hero, was born seemingly without magic despite coming from a long line of metal-horned unicorns each with a unique magical talent, struggles to find his place in society. Toss a birthright prophecy about him saving the tribe into the mix and inevitable ostracizing followed. Once Blue finds his way to his destiny, he is helped through a series of challenges by friends like a firebird, stag, and insects on his way to finding true love and defeating an evil sorcerer.

There were aspects about this to love, particularly how short each chapter is. It becomes very easy to read this as a parent to a child who might not be ready to do so independently. There are also numerous lovely illustrations, which harken back to an older style of drawing. It is obvious that the illustrator cared deeply about the work and source text.

That said, the predictability of the entire plot might turn off more experienced readers. There were also some basic errors in grammar that distracted me throughout, and should have been caught by an experienced proofreader. The female characters are quite underdeveloped, especially Blue's girlfriend Ghel who seems to exist to be his girlfriend only. I would be very challenged to share this book with a young girl as a result.

There are a number of accompanying items including a coloring book that I imagine is quite spectacular. In the end, the story of the social outcast overcoming adversity to take action on behalf of his community is very much appreciated, and I think the illustrations almost make the book worth it in and of itself. Not one I need to reread, but one I might share with a child or two in my life over time.



GoodReads Blue Unicorn Reviews



Cynthia rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition

The beautiful artwork really highlights the book, The Blue Unicorn's Journey To Osm. I'm looking forward to sharing the book with my granddaughter on her upcoming birthday.





Jessica Robbins rated it really liked it

For complete review check out my blog at https://booksaplentybookreviews.blogs...



Andra Weis rated it liked it

The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to Osm by Sybrina Durant is a charming story filled with wonderful artwork at the beginning of each chapter. I loved many aspects of this story and I can certainly see where the target audience is going to get swept up in its magic.

Classic tale of the hero being the underdog in the beginning. Overcoming obstacles to blossom into the hero they were meant to be. And he got the girl of his dreams in the end :). I am a sucker for happy endings. And let us not forget about the other wonderful unicorns that contributed to this lovely tale – Nix especially. He tirelessly protected the tribe. I became exhausted just reading about his efforts to shield everyone.

The descriptions surrounding Style and her work were really entertaining:

“She had dreams about new ways she could style manes and tails. She referred to her
styles as artworks. The fillies got excited every time she came up with a fantastic new
design for manes, tails or nails.
They particularly loved her fabulous painted hoof designs. Style’s salon was often filled
with fillies who wanted a new look. She was always happy to conjure up beautiful and
modern creations.”

Or when speaking of food – definitely mouth watering:

Most unicorns have a sweet tooth, so there was no lack of deserts. There were tins of sweet
mace-laced potato haystack pancakes with maple syrup and containers of warm fragrant
banana raisin bread. There were also tins filled with delicious cinnamon oatmeal cookies.

I applaud the way the author approached difficulties that the unicorns had and the messages that were embodied within the story were great:

"Sometimes putting oneself aside to help another was the right thing to do."; or
“Sometimes drastic choices had to be made in order to stop the advance of evil.”

I was however a bit dismayed that editing had not caught some basic errors, such as the following sentence where “such” and “hear” are in the incorrect order in the sentence. “It was good to such hear pride in his sister’s voice.” Luckily, the story was engaging enough to not totally put me off. Also, some of the made up words/phrases had me giggling: “driggle-draggle or muck-spout.

Along with the fabulous artwork and very descriptive writing, the written tale was an engaging story, keeping me entertained throughout. I recommend this book for those readers who are fans of fantasy…and unicorns of course.
(less)





Deborah rated it really liked it

Shelves: fantasy, ya-fantasy

Blue is a unicorn of prophesy, destined to save his people, the metal horned unicorn tribe, from an evil sorcerer. But when he is born without a metal horn, the very thing that gives each unicorn a unique magical ability, the rest of his tribe cannot help but feel let down.
The little unicorn grows up knowing he is a disappointment, and becomes a loner aside from sweet Ghel, who loves him anyway.
When the unicorn oracle again prophesies that Blue will save the tribe and this time has knowledge of what must happen for them to survive, the adventure of a lifetime begins.
This author has a truly vivid imagination – the world, the creatures, the characters and the magic sparkle with dazzling multi-coloured imagery. Each chapter of the book version I read began with a colour image to set the scene (there are several versions, including one with black and white images ready for colouring in). The entire story abounds with colourful descriptions and happenings, and the plot is a little more complex than I anticipated, involving both space travel and metaphysics. The cast of secondary characters are fabulous, so different to each other and so complementary, they brought depth to the themes of friendship, self-respect, and never underestimating oneself. I do think some of the minor characters didn’t need to be named, as that just gave a few too many names to remember.
I really enjoyed reading this story, even though it is way out of my usual zone. I did, however, struggle to place exactly what audience it was aimed at. Twelve to eighteen is the suggestion, but also suitable for adults. For me, I would have put it, on the grounds of the descriptions, characters, names and humour, to be for readers younger than twelve. On the other hand, it is quite long, and touches on themes of evil and death probably not so appropriate for a younger age range.
Having said that, if you have children who love colour, magic and mythical beasties, I would definitely suggest this as a family read.


E. rated it really liked it

“The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to Osm” written by Sybrina Durant and illustrated by Dasguptarts is a lovely children’s story that blends fantasy and a bit of science fiction in a sweet tale. The gentle reminders of the importance of acceptance and maintaining a sense of self worth are artfully woven into this fun adventure tale. The brightly colored illustrations underscore the fantastical creatures that populate the tale while elements of science are slipped in through descriptions of the types of metal horns utilized by various unicorns and fun words such as didgeridoo are woven into the story. The story can be read on multiple levels, from very simple for a young child to an older individual who can appreciate the nuances and inside jokes such as where the ice cubes originate. Those who enjoy the story should make sure to pay attention to the author’s notes at the end which detail accessory items including a coloring book as well as provide an illustration of a unicorn’s parts and a fun activity.

A copy of this title was provided to me for review


Caitie Deranek rated it liked it
The Blue Unicorn's Journey to Osm is a very digestible read, quick and easy for a low middle grade reader. Blue, our hero, was born seemingly without magic despite coming from a long line of metal-horned unicorns each with a unique magical talent, struggles to find his place in society. Toss a birthright prophecy about him saving the tribe into the mix and inevitable ostracizing followed. Once Blue finds his way to his destiny, he is helped through a series of challenges by friends like a firebird, stag, and insects on his way to finding true love and defeating an evil sorcerer.

There were aspects about this to love, particularly how short each chapter is. It becomes very easy to read this as a parent to a child who might not be ready to do so independently. There are also numerous lovely illustrations, which harken back to an older style of drawing. It is obvious that the illustrator cared deeply about the work and source text.

That said, the predictability of the entire plot might turn off more experienced readers. There were also some basic errors in grammar that distracted me throughout, and should have been caught by an experienced proofreader. The female characters are quite underdeveloped, especially Blue's girlfriend Ghel who seems to exist to be his girlfriend only. I would be very challenged to share this book with a young girl as a result.

There are a number of accompanying items including a coloring book that I imagine is quite spectacular. In the end, the story of the social outcast overcoming adversity to take action on behalf of his community is very much appreciated, and I think the illustrations almost make the book worth it in and of itself. Not one I need to reread, but one I might share with a child or two in my life over time.
(less)








Julie Baswell rated it really liked it




Carlynne Toomey rated it it was amazing
The illustrations in this book are beautiful! The story is great and there is action and adventure. This is an adult or older teen level book as there is violence and death in the story. The battles are graphic and unicorns die. I say this only to warn readers that may think that unicorn stories are always happy, fun rainbow reads. This is not the case with this book, but it is so much better because of the realism. Battles aren’t pretty, evil magicians do bad things. Can the non-magical blue unicorn save the tribe, or will he too perish at the hands of Magh, the evil magician. I’ll let you read this great story, enjoying the beautiful artwork and find out for yourselves. (less)


ory rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
4.5 stars
What can I say about this book, “The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to Osm” ?? First off, I can tell you that it is a fantastically- written and creative magical fantasy that is aimed at the Middle-Grade/Young-Adult crowd, and fans of this genre will love sinking their teeth into this one! It stands out to me in terms of originality, even if some elements are familiar. Sybrina Durant has her own unique voice and writing style that makes it feel fresh and exciting. I definitely enjoyed her strong world-building and creativity, and the (large) cast of characters were great. Some of the best character development/transformations (literally) I’ve read in any book in a long time, combined with such a strong, positive message of overcoming difficult obstacles and not giving up and believing in yourself. From the very beginning the story flows from scene to scene effortlessly, and Durant shows exceptional ability when it comes to storytelling for a wide audience-- to entice readers young and old into this adventurous and intriguing world with Blue, Ghel, the evil Magh and all the others. It seems like so often when I read books, usually I either like the dialogue, and the narrative seems flat or the prose is good, but the conversations seem contrived and fake, especially when it is an adult writing for a younger audience. But I loved how seamlessly everything worked together here and was so well-balanced throughout the whole story. It had it all, seriously…adventure, drama, magic, danger, friends, good and evil… takes us on an unforgettable, and ultimately fulfilling ‘journey’ that I won’t soon forget. Great for ages 12+
(less)
 


Marcella Gonzales rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Is it weird that I want to live inside this book? Please? Haha. “The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to Osm” by Sybrina Durant is such an utterly charming story, one which I would have no hesitation having my children read, and even adult will like it as well. It is a “clean” fantasy suitable for most ages, but it is definitely geared toward the younger YA/ Upper MG crowd (12-18 I’d say), but it is a rare story that will transcend age groups. Sybrina Durant has a great way of writing in a believable manner that is intelligently constructed with great worldbuilding and lore, and characters we love and love to hate. Absolutely love the vibrant pictures that brighten the pages (and storyline). A well-written and tightly knit and action-packed plot will appeal to all readers, not just fans of fantasy. It has a solid universal message that everyone can understand and appreciate, and it is a lot of fun to read. I loved the ending as well, but keep reading to the last pages because there is a helpful pronunciation guide and some very cool drawings that relate to the story. This is such a cool niche here that Ms. Durant has tapped into and I would definitely love to read more like this in the future! Highly recommend.



Nicole rated it really liked it
I am a huge fan of unicorns and was super exited when I found this book! "The Blue Unicorn's Journey to Osm Illustrated Book" is true gem. "The Blue Unicorn's Journey to Osm Illustrated Book" is a beautifully illustrated fantasy novel that pulls the reader directly into an incredible fantasy world that you don't want to leave.
The illustrations done by Dasguptarts perfectly match the story and help set the atmosphere. The love the beautiful color map provided that clearly identifies locations such as, Egada Home of the Cussers, Muzika Woods, and the Rainbow Colored Bands of Weita.
Author Sybrina Durant takes us on an adventure, following Blue, the unicorn who was was supposed to be the savior of his fellow unicorns. He was born without magic or the metal horns attributed to his tribe of unicorns. Fast forward twenty years and the adventure truly begins.
"The Blue Unicorn's Journey to Osm Illustrated Book' is such an imaginative, creative tale. I truly enjoyed reading it. I hope Sybrina Durant will publish future books similar to this. "The Blue Unicorn's Journey to Osm Illustrated Book" is easy to read and a true joy. I would recommend this book to those who enjoy young adult fantasy books. "The Blue Unicorn's Journey to Osm Illustrated Book" is quick, fun read for all.


Laura rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I knew by the 20% mark that I would really love this book and it would go on my MG/YA favorites shelf, and I was right! I admit I had no real expectations when starting it, seeing as how I’d never read the author before and the description felt a bit “generic” to me. I was so immersed in this wonderful, fun book and impressed with the level of creativity that Sybrina Durant puts into “The Blue Unicorn’s Journey”. Of course, I was obsessed with unicorns in my younger days (what young girl wasn’t?) But I’ve never read a book where they were any sort of main/real character before. I loved the characters and the energy Ms. Durant uses. Solid world building throughout, which is really important for creating a believable fantasy. It’s not perfect, however, and I did feel at times there was too much narrative “telling” and backstory that would have been better ‘shown’ through dialogue and action. This caused the pacing to be erratic at times, but not too terrible. For the most part the editing was very clean, (only minor punctuation things here and there) and I appreciated how the ending wraps up nicely, but it also leaves the door open for more magical adventures. Can’t wait! Recommend for MG/YA, but adults will enjoy it as well. Special treat at the end of the book that I loved. (less)




Jenna rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I will give this book 5 stars! “The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to Osm” a fun, enchanting story you just want to dive into and stay lost in! Unfortunately I finished it in two short nights, even though this book is surprisingly long… It’s been so long since I’ve read something with such magical, creative elements that didn’t feel super cliché or something I’ve read a dozen times before. So rare in this genre! … Sybrina Durant has perfected the delicate balance of creating an imaginative and complex magical/alternate world that isn’t confusing or frustrating or overwhelming –especially for younger readers-- but is just complex enough to keep us totally hooked! And I like how it is written in such a way that we see multiple character/unicorn POVs, as well as a narrator to show us the bigger picture. But Durant tackles some pretty heavy themes here and like that she doesn’t dumb it down for her younger audience (some really shocking moments and some sad ones as well). A great read, one I can see being in the libraries of junior highs… might skew a bit young for the High Schoolers but the story has enough substance to appeal to a mass audience. Recommend.


Cynthia rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The beautiful artwork really highlights the book, The Blue Unicorn's Journey To Osm. I'm looking forward to sharing the book with my granddaughter on her upcoming birthday.



Marichus Real rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The only hope of the metal horns unicorns to survive and return to his home Unimaise is a Prophecy about a blue unicorn but when he was born, his horn was no metal and everybody knows the meaning of that: No metal, no magic.
A colourful journey with a group of Unicorns who are trapped in a place that is not their home. A story about friendship, loyalty, love and magic against evil and death.
The pictures are wonderful. It is always nice to look at a unicorn and even more when the pictures have beautiful colours.
Just one but, although it is not about the story but about the blurb on Amazon. I have always wondered by some authors tell so much in them. I can understand it. Lucky me, I just read the blurb on Story Cartel.
I voluntarily reviewed a gifted copy given to me by Story Cartel.
(less)


Maria Thomas rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
The book says this was written for teenagers but I think it is for a younger audience than that.
I think it would hold the tween age range attention well. I didn't love it for myself but I think I would have as a ten year old or something. I think the story is something of a parable and has much for the reader to learn from it.

The reader can glean:
-that it is okay for everyone to be different.
-just because someone is different from you doesn't mean that you should look down on them.
-just because you feel different doesn't mean you are of lesser value
-you have to believe in yourself
-sometimes an individual ostracizes himself even when people are willing to be accepting
-everyone has their own role to play and each is important
-working as a group is better than trying to do it all alone
-working hard is important
-truth is truth whether we understand it now or not
-learning is important
-love is vital
-in the end, good wins over evil
-there is life after death
-sometimes you just have to have faith before you can have knowledge
-one should help others in need


This is not a complete list. It is just some thoughts that I had while reading the book.

The writing is pretty simplistic and resolution to each problem happens quickly. Through out the story there is someone to help the unicorns out of their situations almost immediately so one never has to wonder long how they will be saved this time.

The story is set in "a long time ago" but sometimes the language becomes very modern. "Female nature? What a pig. Can you believe that guy?"

The artwork is interesting and colorful. As I understand it there are multiple versions of the book, picture book, black and white that one could color themselves and there is a coloring book which could be fun for younger kids.

There is no adult language in the book but there are substitute curse-words and name calling used through out. (Some of it made me laugh). -"horsehocky", "dagnabit", "hothead"...

There is violence particularly during the final battle of good vs evil. Some of it is "magic violence" but some of it is physical attack. Not too horribly graphic but there are descriptions of the fighting.


Helois rated it liked it
What we have here is a sci-fi/fantasy mash up. Revolving around a highly evolved race of unicorns (they pilot space ships but are magical). The story is creative and moves along at a nice pace. The description states that it is for teens, but I would say it's more of a middle grade read. Simplistic writing style, still manages to explore some great themes, such as acceptance of self and others.

All the makings of a fantasy novel; magic, a quest and mythological creatures, but with a science fiction twist of different planets and space ships.The plot center on Blue a unicorn who his born without a metal horn..no metal equals no magic, unfortunately the prophecy states that he will be the savior of the metal horn unicorns, seeing he was born without a metal horn the other unicorns think the prophecy is not believable. Making Blue a bit of an outcast as he grows up. The tribe continues to dwindle as the evil sorcerer hunts the unicorns for their magical horns and hooves, leading to a quest for Blue to join with the moonstar and fulfill his destiny. There is a bit of violence with a big battle between the unicorns and sorcerer, involving lot's of magical creatures. It's not graphic but the fighting is described.

The book does contain illustrations at the start of each chapter, giving life to the story, at the end you can find pronunciations and descriptions of each of the unicorns. A fun and clever story.

*I received a copy from the author for a blog tour with YA Blog Tours. All thoughts and opinions are my own. You can read a longer review at stainonthepage.com
(less)


Apr 20, 2018 Stacie rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to Osm, by Sabrina Durant, is a gorgeously illustrated story about a unicorn born without magic but destined for great things. A tale that is filled with enchanting fantasy, it is also packed with action as Blue tries to help save his tribe from the evil sorcerer Magh. Readers will delight in the its fairytale elements and lush, colorful pictures that include, in addition to all the unicorns in Blue’s tribe - a firebird, fairies, and a manticore!

The addition of so many mythical creatures and Durant’s descriptive prose give this story a feeling reminiscent of Grimm’s tales. Written for young adults, it is a book that could be enjoyed by upper middle-grade readers and adults alike. Even though its pictures will no doubt draw in younger readers as well, the text does include some violence that may not be suitable for those under 12. While the book was nearly a five-star read for me, and I love that it celebrates the theme of friendship - the violence made it closer to four-stars because I don’t think my daughter (age 9, nearly 10) is mature enough for it, and therefore didn’t share it with her. However, Durant did intend a teenaged audience, which is appropriate.

Durant has also made a companion art book available, as well as a guide to the entire Unicorn tribe. Creative and visually stunning, The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to Osm is a book that is a must-have for unicorn fans, and a good read for young adults & adults who loves fairytales and beautiful, epic fantasy.

*Thank you to iamareader.com & Ms. Durant for a digital copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
(less)


J.D.R. Hawkins rated it it was amazing
I really loved this book! From MarBryn to Unimaise, this enchanting book kept me enthralled to the very end. The writing was captivating, and author Sybrina Durant included enough description so that I could envision each individual creature, as well as the mystical land of MarBryn. The artwork throughout the book is creative and colorful, and artist Dasguptarts has a unique, distinctive style that defines the novel. I also liked the options at the end of the book, so that readers can purchase coloring books, a picture book, and various other merch in relation to the series. The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to Osm was so imaginative that I would recommend it to anyone who loves fantasy fiction. (less)


Shelves: read-for-review
*I received a copy from the RABT Book Tours for review. This did not affect my review.*

Such a fun story. Light-hearted and charming. The artwork is beautiful, and the characters quickly become the reader's friends, someone young readers can cheer for and look forward to reading about. The story has a timeless feel to it, and is great for all ages.


Susan rated it it was amazing
I'm super glad to have stumbled upon The Blue Unicorn's Journey To Osm by Sybrina Durant. I found the blurb quite intriguing and started reading it the second I downloaded it to my Kindle. The story is beautifully crafted and vividly written that makes picturing it incredibly enjoyable. I found characters like Gaiso and Girasol a little extra interesting and really liked the depth in the story. I'd appreciate the author's attention to detail and her story telling skills. I was so engrossed into it that I couldn't stop until I was done. The occasional illustrations are colorful and pump life into the story.

Without giving away anything crucial, I'd recommend it to anybody (not just children) who appreciates a well written story or loves unicorns.
(less)


Elisa Rose rated it it was amazing
Great book-I really enjoyed it! Five stars!


Jessica Secrest rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Young Adults
The Blue Unicorn's Journey to Osm
by Sybrina Durant
Review by Jessica Secrest

Can you imagine everyone expecting you to be their savior before you are even born. When you are born everyone is upset that you don't measure up to their expectations. Blue is a unicorn with a leather horn. Everyone knows that unicorns need metal horns to have magic. Geesh. What a disappointment. No one considered that the evil wizard can't find Blue because he has no metal.
One of the things that I like about this story is Blue uses what he has, his intelligence and his body. When the evil wizard murders his mother, he goes to the Guarded Forest, not far from his home. He saves the life of a stag. The stag teaches him to fight. He plays tag with the fairies, sharpening his eyesight, strengthening his heart and lungs and muscles for running and dodging.
One day the unicorn who said he would save them, came to Blue and told him it was time. He got excited. He collected what he would need for the long trip to Muzika Woods, starting with food and magic tablets that could purify water, both were made from the magic of unicorns. This was another thing I like about the story and Blue's wisdom. At one point in the story Blue and his companions save a bug (who later saves Blue and the other unicorns). The bug has nasty wounds. It goes into the mud to heal. He tells Blue and his companions that there are healing minerals in the mud. Blue is happy that he didn't use one of the tablets that may have damaged the land. He gets a container of water and purifies it for drinking. This is only one example of the science used in the story. There are a lot of common sense lessons.
When Blue left the tribe of unicorns, he did not know that he would need them at Muzika Woods. They make their own way there taking a different path. Their journey is just as exciting and funny. I want to tell you about the car wash, but don't want to spoil the fun for you. They fall into trouble when they must pass through the evil wizard's city, but they also discover allies.
One thing I wish is that the list of pronunciations was at the beginning of the book and I wish there had been more of them. I didn't discover the pronunciations until I was almost finished with the story. I would have enjoyed the story more if I could have pronounced some of the unicorns names and the strange beings they meet along the way sooner.
When Blue and his companions arrive in Muzika Woods I was thrilled when one of the creatures floated toward them playing a Psaltery. I play a Psaltery and understand how different wood will bring out a different sound. A Psaltery made of butternut wood has a distinctive twang. One made of cherry wood has a soft and lilting tone. It is a beautiful instrument and fun to play.
There are several instruments played in Muzika Woods. I had to look up the Rebec because I had never heard of it. This is the description from Wikipedia. The rebec is a bowed stringed instrument of the Medieval era and the early Renaissance era. In its most common form, it has a narrow boat-shaped body and 1-5 strings.
There is a fairy tale story that happens in Muzika Woods where Blue finally makes it to Osm.
Of course there is a battle with the evil wizard where the allies the unicorns have made along the way join in the battle. The evil wizard not only killed the unicorns, but he was nasty to everyone. He wanted complete control over everyone.
The story does not end with the battle, but with, well, it struck me as a unicorn heaven. That was different and unexpected.
This story is a fun read. I definitely would recommend it to young adults.
At the very end is a song that Blue's mate, Ghel (hard g like gift and rhymes with bell), sings. There is a link that you can click on to hear the song. That is just too much fun.
http://www.sybrina.com/index_The_Blue... (less)


Carol rated it it was amazing
A fascinating read no matter your age!!!
Full of vivid description that places the reader in the
story with the well fleshed out magical characters.
In the land of MarBryn, the metal horned unicorns
await birth of the baby unicorn that is destined to
save the unicorns from Magh, the evil sorcerer.
This sorcerer takes the unicorn’s metal horns and
hooves to use to increase his evil magic.
When baby Blue is born, he does not have a metal
horn nor did he show any magical tendency like the
metal horn unicorns. When Blue realizes what the
prophecy about him was, he sets off to fulfill his destiny.
A stag, a phoenix, a pendragon, fairies complement
Blue’s learning abilities. But will he be able to overcome
the evil sorcerer, save and unite the metal horned
unicorns in safety???
Blue learns that being different does not limited your
lifetime potential but can change your perspective for
the better.
The author creation of an array of in-depth magical
characters that have human emotions, flaws and dramatic
events that shape their perceptions and personalities was a
phenomenal experience.
I enjoyed learning about the various instruments played
in the Muzika Woods. It was interesting looking them
up for further information.
I volunteered to read The Blue Unicorn's Journey To Osm.
Thanks to author via the Cozy Mystery Review Crew for
the opportunity. My opinion is my own.
(less)


This is precious. It has a lesson as well. We learn that being different isn’t bad and can lead to wonderful things. It shows how unique and special you are.

Blue is born different from the other unicorn’s. He was supposed to be the one to save them but everyone feels disappointed because they don’t see how. He has no metal horn which is where their magic is. So Blue feels alone. Accept for his friend Ghel, the one he loves. He hides from groups and learns from Gaiso how to fight and becomes stronger. He feels he has something to prove.

Suddenly the danger is closer and his family is in danger. Blue must go out on a journey filled with danger and his friends Gaiso and Girasol are by his side the whole way. It is a magically written journey that has you smile and love the imagination of Sybrina.

Each unicorn is unique and wonderful. Each one plays a role in Blue becoming who he is and learning something. When the journey is done and Blue is transformed you learn so much and had a fun time as well.

The book is imaginative and lovely. So adorable and creative. Your attention never sways and all ages will love the story of blue and how he helps his fellow unicorns get to safety and find their home and family amongst themselves and loved ones long lost to them. Such a fun imaginative story to the end that is filled with adventure, whimsy, magic and intrigue.


Susan rated it it was amazing
I'm super glad to have stumbled upon The Blue Unicorn's Journey To Osm by Sybrina Durant. I found the blurb quite intriguing and started reading it the second I downloaded it to my Kindle. The story is beautifully crafted and vividly written that makes picturing it incredibly enjoyable. I found characters like Gaiso and Girasol a little extra interesting and really liked the depth in the story. I'd appreciate the author's attention to detail and her story telling skills. I was so engrossed into it that I couldn't stop until I was done. The occasional illustrations are colorful and pump life into the story.

Without giving away anything crucial, I'd recommend it to anybody (not just children) who appreciates a well written story or loves unicorns.
(less)


Caitlyn Huehn rated it it was amazing
I was hooked immediately with this book, I even began to read it aloud to my family. It's totally different from anything I've ever read before and I loved it! The added pictures helped to enhance my reading experience, as well as, keep my younger children entertained.

I loved the ideas that are taught in this book and I love the way the unicorn's have human traits. They have fitness rooms, hair salons, and can even be allergic to things, but it all adds to the magical factor in the story.

Blue's journey was interesting to read and made me realize there is so much about this book that I absolutely loved. I can't wait to read it a second time! It was "scrumdiddlyumptious"!
(less)


Elisa Rose rated it it was amazing
Great book-I really enjoyed it! Five stars!


Laura Reading rated it really liked it
Shelves: what-an-animal
Having an interest both in fanciful creatures having adventures and the search for better lives, I thought this book called to me. It is written on a middle grade level, with some words needing a bit more work to figure out, mainly the very creative names given to the characters. The author does a wonderful job of world building.
It is a story of good vs evil, about how circumstances can change the direction of our lives.
Not everything is as it seems and many things take their own time to show their true colors.
It is a story about ethics and loyalty, about facing fears and making tough choices.
Unlike a famous reindeer with a different sort of nose than his herd, Blue's tribe accepts his difference and includes him. Blue, however, chooses to make his difference hold him back, limit his inclusion. In other ways, he is more open to friendships among people not of his breed than are the other unicorns. The story is very good but this book has messages on additional levels.
I recommend it to readers of fantasy fiction and those who appreciate deeper meaning in the stories they read.
(less)


Laura Thomas rated it really liked it
Shelves: fantasy, ya
Having such a love for the wonder of unicorns it was an easy choice to read this book. Magical unicorns with metal horns. All shapes and sizes. And one unicorn, Blue, who has no magic, but is supposed to be the savior for the tribe. Sounds like a grand adventure to me.

And it was. Filled with lots of beautiful illustrations portraying many of the fantastical beings that roam these lands, it kept me enthralled. However, it had some dark moments that caught me by surprise. Going in thinking this was for younger readers, some scenes of death and danger now have me thinking this would better fit older teens and young adults.

This well written fantasy has plenty of intriguing characters and plenty of action, with some doses of peril that will keep you reading and crossing your fingers for a happy ending. I sure enjoyed it and would love to read more about Blue, his friends, and this magical world.

I received a complimentary copy. My review is voluntarily given.
(less)


Taylor rated it it was amazing
I loved this children’s book! The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to Osm is a gorgeously illustrated tale about Blue the Unicorn and his adventures. Blue is born without magic but is expected to save his tribe from the evil sorcerer Magh. Children and adults alike will love this read, the incredible colors and detail of the illustrations paired with easy to follow but super entertaining story line. I loved the characters of this book, the unicorns had personality and depth, which made it such a joy to read. This story is filled with fantasy, action, and it has a dream-like quality, letting your imagination run wild while you read it whether you’re 6, 16, or 60. There’s no doubt readers will enjoy being alongside Blue as he discovers his purpose in life. Engaging, creative, and imaginative- I’ll definitely be recommending this book to family and friends! (less)


Vinay Leo R. rated it really liked it
Review at A Bookworm's Musing

Simple, flowing story that keeps the pages turning; wonderful illustrations, including the one on the cover art; loved the character of the blue unicorn, and his transformation as the book progresses too. It was an engaging read, and was cheering for a happy ending throughout. I do wish there were more illustrations. I feel that would have made the read much better.


Jolie rated it it was amazing
I didn’t know that The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to OSM was a children’s fantasy book. Don’t give me that look. I know that it is pretty obvious from looking at the cover that it is. Here’s the deal. I am used to reading and reviewing adult fantasy (among other things). When I was approached to review The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to OSM, I assumed that it was a children’s fantasy. I also based that on the blurb, which I didn’t read all the way. I was excited because I haven’t read a good adult fantasy with unicorn’s…ever. Saying that I was surprised when I started reading was an understatement. But, the more I read the book, the more I started to enjoy it. By the end of the book, I loved the book and was glad that I read the book.

There are three plotlines to The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to OSM. The first storyline is about Blue and the prophecy that he is fated to fulfill (even if he didn’t have a metal horn). The second storyline follows the tribe of metal horns as they race to the Muzika Woods to meet up with Blue. The third storyline is about the evil wizard, Magh and his obsession with wiping out the unicorns. All the storylines were very well written. I got invested in each one. I will admit, it did take me longer to warm up to the metal horns (except for Ghel) because of the way they treated Blue.

I felt bad for Blue during the first half of the book. He didn’t feel that he belongs to the tribe because his horn was made of leather instead of metal. He wasn’t treated badly but he was made to feel that he wasn’t as good as the rest of the tribe. I understood why he took off after Alumina explained exactly what his prophecy was and what he needed to do. He wanted to be accepted.

The tribe’s journey to Musika Woods was more danger-filled than Blue’s. They also realized, with the help of Ghel, that Blue was more important to the tribe than any of them would admit.

While Magh was a very bad and evil person, I couldn’t help but feel bad for him. He didn’t ask to be bad and evil. When it was revealed what happened to him, my heart broke. For both Magh and the unicorns.

I am not going to go into the last half of the book or what Alumina told Blue in the beginning. I will say this. The end of the book was fantastic. The author was able to bring all the storylines together and merge them flawlessly. It was also action packed. Now onto what Alumina told Blue. It factors hugely into the ending. HUGELY. The end of the book made my heart happy.

I am not going to do a What I Liked/What I Disliked. If I did, I would be giving away the ending and some major spoilers. My suggestion, go read the book. It won’t disappoint.

I would give The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to OSM a Child rating. There is violence but it is very mild. There is no sex or sexual situations. There is no language. I will say that I would use discretion if you are going to read this book to a younger (under 5) child. There are some frightening scenes that could scare a younger child.

There are no trigger warnings in The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to OSM.

I would recommend The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to OSM to family and friends. This is a book that I would read and I would feel comfortable reading to my children.
(less)



May 15, 2018 Jessica Bronder rated it it was amazing
In the land of MarBryn, unicorns with metal horns have magical abilities. But they are not safe as an evil wizard wants to take control of all of their horns. A prophecy says that a unicorn will be born that can defeat the evil wizard Magh. That unicorn is Blue, a baby born with a leather horn and no magical abilities. Of course several unicorns are disappointed but when Blue learns of the prophecy he decides to train to save the other unicorns.

Blue has the help of a stag, fairies, and many others to sharpen his skills. He may not have magic but with the help of his friends he has a better advantage. Blue has to go on an adventure to stop Magh. Thankfully his friends are there to help him on the journey and the battle to come.

This is a wonderful story that will appeal to all ages. Blue feels alone except for Ghel and his friends. But he is not going to let being different stop him from fulfilling the prophecy. I love how although he doesn’t have magic he used his head to puzzle through each event. I loved all the morals you learn along with Blue.

This is a creative and involving story. I was transported to this world and had a hard time putting this book down. This is a beautiful story that will appeal to everyone from young to old.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.

Sherry Fundin rated it really liked it
There’s no place like home…OSM means awesome.

He is supposed to be their savior. But how can that be possible? He has no magic.

He feels an outsider, he just doesn’t fit in. Does anyone feel a touch of Rudolph in this?

The fun, colorful, imaginative illustrations are wonderful, filled with fantastical creatures, both good and bad.

Each creature is unique, individual, just like in real life.

Is there such a thing as a fish unicorn? If so, imagine the possibilities.

Set your imagination free.

The Blue Unicorn…reads like old time fairy tales…where life and death choices are made…And …maybe, you will learn why you never see a unicorn.

This magical fantasy filled with fun and humor, sadness and happiness, and lessons learned. We are not alone.

I voluntarily reviewed The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to Osm by Sybrina Durant.

To see more visit
fundinmental (less)



Melissa rated it it was ok
The Blue Unicorn's Journey To Osm by Sybrina Durant is a children's fantasy book about a group of unicorns written in third-person. It is perfect for children who enjoy fantasy stories (and especially unicorns). The book is aimed at younger children and filled with beautiful illustrations. This is a great book to read with a child.


ennifer Radmall rated it it was amazing
In the Tribe of Metal Horned Unicorns there is a prophecy that tells of a unicorn who will save them from the evil sorceress Magh who uses their horns and hooves for spells, but when he is finally born the Blue Unicorn has no metal in his horn. Without a metal horn the Blue Unicorn has no magic, but he still must find a way to save his people or they will all be doomed.

Along the his way on the perilous journey he has the help of many friends, like Gaiso the Stag and Girasol the Firebird. With the help of both forest friends and magical friends alike, Blue Unicorn must battle his way through the magical land of MarBryn to get his tribe back to Unimaise or face extinction.

The cover art caught my eye as soon as I saw it and I was delighted to find that the same vibrant and detailed illustrations are found throughout the entire book. A map in the beginning of the book make it easy for readers to follow both the Blue Unicorn's journey and the separate trek of his Tribe as they make their way to Muzika Woods. Each section has a small black and white illustration and is only two pages of text, making it easy to pick up and put down. Following each section is a full-color 2 page spread version of the black and white picture on the text page. The formatting in the e-book great, but is best enjoyed on a color tablet or computer screen to get the full color illustrations.

Seeing each of the unicorns special abilities corresponding to each unicorns unique metal horn is creative. Although Blue is without magic, he certainly isn't helpless and his ability to stay positive throughout the book definitely helps him on the way. The writing style is appropriate for the age category. The story moves at a steady pace and kept me hooked from beginning to end. Readers should be warned of the inclusion of death near that end, which may be too dark for younger readers.

This coming-of-age story is sure to delight fantasy and unicorn enthusiasts.
(less)


Emma Rose Lee rated it it was amazing
Captivating and Entertaining Characters...

The Blue Unicorn's Journey to Osm is a wonderful read. It has a layout and feel of a classic fairytale. The Illustrations are vivid and bright. I'd love to get the coloring book some day.
This is a story about a young unicorn named Blue who before birth was supposedly the Metal Horned unicorns savior. Everyone is disappointed when Blue is born as a plain unicorn without a metal horn or magic.
Blue feels set apart from the others and keeps to himself mostly aside from his best friend Ghel.
One day he is told that he will reach his destiny in the Muzika Woods. So he sets out by himself and along the way he picks up some companions.
I won't go into more detail because you should read the book for yourself. This book is for all ages, young and old alike.
(less)


Samantha Markham rated it it was amazing
This book by Sybrina Durant is fantastic for younger children. Most kids dream of seeing or having a unicorn and this book will help them keep that magical innocence alive longer. The story line is unique and entertaining, too. Along with the fabulous illustrations, this book makes it impossible to not like the characters as we read their journey. Not only are the characters relatable, but the stories message is great for growing children. I highly recommend this book for parents looking for an original story about unicorns for their child. It's magical and will be their new favorite book for years to come! (less)




 
When Blue was born, he was supposed to be the savior. The oracle had prophesied it beforehand. All of the unicorns in the land of MarBryn had horns of some type of metal and each one had their own magic. But when Blue was born, his horn was only a plain blue hide. With no one to fulfill the prophesy, no more unicorns would be born. Twenty years later, the Numen relayed to the oracle the path that Blue must take, to save the tribe and bring them back to their homeland of Unimaise. But first he must confront the evil sorcerer Magh.

The plot was interesting and easy to follow. I liked the human qualities of the unicorns. It made their journey unique in that they were all family to each other. The characters that Blue meets on his adventure were also unique and loveable. I enjoyed all of the illustrations throughout the story. They were beautifully done. They also helped to visualize each creature after reading their descriptions. My favorite part of the book has to be when Blue was going through the rainbow land. The descriptions truly described a rainbow. I don’t think you have to be a child to enjoy this story.

No comments:

Post a Comment